Financial Training for Board Members


Financial Training for Board Members

Date: Thursday, June 28, 2018
Duration: 1 hour
Time: 10am PST | 11am MST | CST 12pm | 1pm EST

One of the primary roles of a nonprofit board of directors is to provide fiscal oversight for the organizations they serve. Yet there are different approaches to financial oversight by boards. What are the best and most effective practices? What can your staff and volunteer leaders do to increase the financial literacy of your board? Does your board know how to read and understand the financial statements being presented at every meeting? During this webinar, we will explore some of the key components for your board members to enhance their role in providing effective governance oversight for the nonprofit’s financial management policies and activities. The learning objectives will cover these topics:

• What are the typical financial responsibilities and misunderstandings of board members?

• What are the fundamental fiduciary duties for nonprofit board and its members?

• Learn how to read, interpret and understand the financial reports for the nonprofit you represent

Financial Training for Board Members

Clay Harmon writes content for Aplos by day and makes up novel-sized stories by night. When doing neither, his Kindle e-reader is close at hand, or he is drinking coffee and losing at video games on his computer. Raised at the gateway to Yosemite, the occasional trip into the Sierras gives a quick fix for an addiction to mountain air and serves as inspiration for future books cooking in that brain of his.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *